Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

ACC Touney And Edjumication

I don't know how many native North Carolinians post here at DBR. My wife was born in Indianapolis but has lived in Chicago, Palm Beach and Atlanta. I have trued to explain to her what a big deal the ACC tournament is at least in this state. She swears I am telling a lie when I say this. But I remember from kindergarten all the way through high school teachers would have the TV on in the class room on ACC tournament Friday. Sure in high school there were a few communist, pinkos who didn't care about it and thus didn't have it on. But does anyone else remember watching the ACC Tournament IN CLASS almost like a on going news event in school?

I was a junior high school teacher from 1982-88. I always signed up for a TV the first day back, because we didn't have one for every classroom. You bet we watched the tourney.

Very good! I was reaching for the dictionary when I realized you were talking in "northcarolinian"

Quote Originally Posted by Latta6970 View Post
    I don't know how many native North Carolinians post here at DBR. My wife was born in Indianapolis but has lived in Chicago, Palm Beach and Atlanta. I have trued to explain to her what a big deal the ACC tournament is at least in this state. She swears I am telling a lie when I say this. But I remember from kindergarten all the way through high school teachers would have the TV on in the class room on ACC tournament Friday. Sure in high school there were a few communist, pinkos who didn't care about it and thus didn't have it on. But does anyone else remember watching the ACC Tournament IN CLASS almost like a on going news event in school?
    I don't remember every watching the tournament at school (actually my junior year my chemistry teacher was the basketball coach so maybe that year), but I do remember skipping school to watch the games when Duke played early.

Durham, within a couple of miles of Cameron