Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Parts Unknown

    technical question on this board and firewalls

    I have installed a new firewall [AT&T] and it had a problem when I tried to bring up a thread. What program does this board use to access the Internet and should my firewall have an issue with it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Dallas

    Not quite sure what you're asking....

    There's not really a "program" that DBR uses to access the internet. They put their website on a server, and you're downloading the server content when you type in the address on the web page.

    The board itself is a modified version of phpBB, which is probably the most popular bulletin board software out there. The server itself is probably an Apache server.

    If you can view the main site, and not the bulletin board, then I don't think your firewall is the culprit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Parts Unknown

    thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by unexpected View Post
    There's not really a "program" that DBR uses to access the internet. They put their website on a server, and you're downloading the server content when you type in the address on the web page.

    The board itself is a modified version of phpBB, which is probably the most popular bulletin board software out there. The server itself is probably an Apache server.

    If you can view the main site, and not the bulletin board, then I don't think your firewall is the culprit.
    I asked because the first time I tried to bring up a thread after installing it the firewall notified me of a program trying to access. I allowed access only once and the thread came up. The timing may have been an coincidence, but it just struck me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Washington, DC area
    If you're using a software firewall, make sure it's set to allow all access to dukebasketballreport.com. If you do an "allow one time only" or the like, it'll ask every time.

    -jk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Quote Originally Posted by -jk View Post
    If you're using a software firewall, make sure it's set to allow all access to dukebasketballreport.com. If you do an "allow one time only" or the like, it'll ask every time.

    -jk
    That is the reason i agreed to "allow one time only". it hasn't asked again so i guess that request was not about the board. the timing was just right and the thread was slow to come up.

    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Board Question
    By colchar in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 05:20 PM
  2. Technical issues!!!
    By yancem in forum Elizabeth King Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 08:27 PM
  3. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-31-2007, 03:09 PM
  4. Board question:
    By Ima Facultiwyfe in forum Elizabeth King Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-21-2007, 03:55 AM
  5. A Technical Question about the Board
    By Indoor66 in forum Elizabeth King Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2007, 10:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •