Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Duke vs. Kentucky - Carolina BBQ Emergency!

Please let me know if this is the right board for this, or perhaps I should move to main board.

The Problem: I am flying into RDU for my cousins wedding. I have not been to Durham in over 8 years, and I have not had Carolina BBQ since I graduated 1.5 decades ago. I was craving Bullock's BBQ SO BAD, and even got my wife excited about it. HOWEVER, I just figured out given the timing of our flights and the wedding obligations, coupled with Bullock's hours of operation, we will NOT be able to GO! Qu'ell Horreur Y'all!

My Question: Can someone recommend an alternative BBQ place that may be close to the airport (where the hotel and wedding stuff is going on)? It doesn't have to be the 'best' place, just a decent place that's easy to find that's not too far from the airport, and would have vinegar-based pulled pork que?

I'm going to look back through all the bbq threads to see what I can find, but if someone has a quick suggestion, let me know!

Neuro, aka Disappointed in NYC.

P.s. The apostrophe in 'quelle' was intentional.

Smithfield's Bar-B-Q

Not the same as Bullocks, but there's a Smithfield's Chicken n' Bar-b-q on Davis drive in Morrisville which is just a hop, skip and jump from the airport. Definitely Eastern NC bar-b-q! Here's the website: http://scnbnc.com/.

Bullock's offers catering services. Have them deliver the food to your hotel or wherever you're staying.
    Good luck!

Backyard BBQ Pit is your best bet. The Q is great, but the veggies and desserts are amazing....all "old school" homemade. Mac & cheese to die for.

http://www.sweetribs.com/backyard-bb...-nc-story.html

About 150 feet in front of the Duke Chapel doors.
    Barbeque is ALWAYS on-topic. I'll move this thread over to the King Board.
    JBDuke

Andre Dawkins: “People ask me if I can still shoot, and I ask them if they can still breathe. That’s kind of the same thing.”