Tony Jackson dismissed from FB team

No major worries for Duke has some good RB's in the stable.

Duke Media Release -

DURHAM, N.C. -- Duke head coach David Cutcliffe announced on Wednesday that running back Tony Jackson has been dismissed from the gridiron program, effective immediately, for failing to uphold the standard of conduct expected of a Blue Devil football student-athlete.

Jackson, a 5-10, 190-pound junior from Rochester, N.Y., played in 11 games with three starting assignments in 2008, rushing 76 times for 259 yards while catching 12 passes for an additional 106 yards and one touchdown. As a true freshman in 2007, he appeared in all 12 contests -- primarily on special teams -- as a reserve defensive back.

Don't know the details behind this decision, but I have a high degree of trust for Coach Cut's judgment in these matters. An emphasis on character often pays dividends down the road.

To young Mr. Jackson, hope he can learn a lesson and move on, whether that be at Duke or elsewhere. Mistakes and bad breaks are part of life; overcoming them is a real triumph.

Disappointing to hear anybody on the FB team get dismissed. It seems like their have been quite a few dismissals in the past couple years. I'm sure Cutcliffe has laid down the law and is fair with his assessments.

Perhaps it was due to his exorbitant number of traffic tickets:

Duke parking is pretty brutal though.

Quote Originally Posted by watzone View Post

Duke Media Release -

DURHAM, N.C. -- Duke head coach David Cutcliffe announced on Wednesday that running back Tony Jackson has been dismissed from the gridiron program, effective immediately, for failing to uphold the standard of conduct expected of a Blue Devil football student-athlete.