alteran is offline All-American, Honorable Mention

Coldplay versus Satriani

Anybody been following this one? For those that haven't, Joe Satriani is suing ColdPlay because of similarities between Viva La Vida and Satriani's instrumental song, "If I Could Fly," the title of which is so banal as to defy the power of sarcasm.

One the one hand, the songs sound pretty similar:

Satriani
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMcjXo8ZuqE
    Coldplay
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvgZkm1xWPE

On the other hand, as an underpracticing amateur musician, I'm trying to think of something more obvious than playing Em, C, D, G over and over, with changes exclusively on the first beat of each measure-- which both songs are doing.

Anyhow, thoughts?

One thing that I'm SURE of, is that I love the internets! Why, because it was inevitable that someone found THIS.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XnhFR73wOs

If there's any justice, this Miami-Vice-looking Euro-dance goofball will sue Satriani into whole new tax bracket.

The mashup with the two songs done together is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ofFw...eature=related

The thing about [western] music is that there are really only 12 pitches and there are only so many chords and non-yucky progressions as well. With the hundreds of thousands of songs in classical and non-classical music out there, I bet everything is a copy of something else at this point. Cause IV-V-I has never been done before, right?

Quote Originally Posted by alteran View Post
    Anybody been following this one? For those that haven't, Joe Satriani is suing ColdPlay because of similarities between Viva La Vida and Satriani's instrumental song, "If I Could Fly," the title of which is so banal as to defy the power of sarcasm.

One the one hand, the songs sound pretty similar:

Satriani
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMcjXo8ZuqE
    Coldplay
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvgZkm1xWPE