Portal and Braid

I'm somewhat late to the party on Braid (XBLA exclusive for now) and hugely late with Portal (now on XBLA as Portal: Still Alive), but who here has enjoyed either or both? I started playing Braid yesterday based on strong reviews and boredom with Fable 2.

Enjoying Braid, which I've seen described as the Portal of 2008, reminded me that I never did get around to playing Portal. There are definite similarities in that both are mind-bending puzzle games dressed up in different guises (Braid as a platformer and Portal as a first-person "shooter").

I strongly recommend both. Many of the challenges they present are very rewarding to solve.

The cake is a lie!

alteran is offline All-American, Honorable Mention
    Quote Originally Posted by billybreen View Post
    I'm somewhat late to the party on Braid (XBLA exclusive for now) and hugely late with Portal (now on XBLA as Portal: Still Alive), but who here has enjoyed either or both? I started playing Braid yesterday based on strong reviews and boredom with Fable 2.

Enjoying Braid, which I've seen described as the Portal of 2008, reminded me that I never did get around to playing Portal. There are definite similarities in that both are mind-bending puzzle games dressed up in different guises (Braid as a platformer and Portal as a first-person "shooter").

I strongly recommend both. Many of the challenges they present are very rewarding to solve.
    Don't know about about Braid, but I loved Portal.

The mental puzzles with the portals are really neat.

I loved the little touches-- the passive-aggressive AI personality was great. That song at the end she sings was priceless.

Quote Originally Posted by alteran View Post
    I loved the little touches-- the passive-aggressive AI personality was great. That song at the end she sings was priceless.
    Said song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6ljFaKRTrI