PDA

View Full Version : Working the Calves

EarlJam
05-15-2008, 03:54 PM
Calling Greybeard!

Here's an odd thing. As many of you know, it's been one year since I tore my Achilles and had surgery. It's been a long road but I've been playing tennis, competitively, now for about two months and just recently started playing basketball again.

As time went by with the cast on last summer and fall, my calf muscle shrank considerably. Since I've been exercising, the outer calf muscle has gotten quite a bit bigger, stronger. But the inner calf muscle isn't growing nearly as fast.

No problem until.....

Softball. I went out to hit the other day and noticed that when I swung the bat, something about the rotation of the body works, pulls at, that inner calf muscle (right leg, right handed hitter).

What's that all about? It scared me a little. I never thought the calf muscle played such a big roll in hitting a softball. Much less the inner calf muscle.

So, if I'm to play regularly, I'll need to build that inner calf muscle up.

BUT HOW?

I've looked on line but haven't really found anything helpful.

Thanks,

-EarlJam

TillyGalore
05-15-2008, 04:03 PM
I know you asked for Greybread, but having a few calf related injuries requiring rehab I've learned a little about exercises to strengthen the calf muscles.

Do heal raises with your feet pointing forwards, start of with 10 reps 3 times and increase the number of reps as you feel you're getting stronger.

Do heal raises with your toes pointed in, and with your toes pointed out. Again, 10 reps 3 times, etc.

This really has helped me. I tend to do them in the morning and evening when I'm brushing my teeth.

Now, if the pain is on the front of your shin, do toe raises. In fact you probably should do those any way to balance out the strength of your calves.

EarlJam
05-15-2008, 04:06 PM