PDA

View Full Version : Dexter fans?

Cormac
05-13-2008, 12:42 PM
Any Dexter fans out there? For those of you who don't know what I'm talking about, its a show on Showtime based on the books by Jeff Lindsay. The show/books focus on Dexter who works for the Miami Police Department as a blood spatter expert (I'm a forensics grad student so get totally geeked up about shows that have anything to do with my field). However, there's a twist. Dexter moonlights as a serial killer himself, murdering only the worst of the worst who have ducked the system. Anyway, that is a very brief description, as there are lots of other characters and plot lines.
I have just started the second season and its a great show with a lot of interesting moral questions. I know, i know, we cant run around killing people, nor do I think we should, but it is interesting. As the writers put it, "Is Dexter a good guy doing bad things or a bad guy doing good things?" Would we really mourn the death of the couple that smuggled in Cuban immigrants only to kidnap them until their loved ones coughed up more money, killing most of them in the process? Or the buy that raped and murdered young boys? I don't know, i just find its premise intriguing, even if its highly unrealistic, but tv is escapism, so I dig it. Anyone else a fan?

brevity
05-13-2008, 01:03 PM
I recently watched its 1st season rebroadcast on CBS Sunday nights. Great cast of relative unknowns, and it's amazing to see Michael C. Hall move so seamlessly away from Six Feet Under.

Unfortunately, it's extremely difficult to talk about this show without spoiling things for fans who have seen fewer episodes. I'd heard some of what goes on in Season 2 before I ever started watching the show, and now I feel like I've been denied the element of surprise.

Cormac
05-14-2008, 09:00 AM